Skip to content

Learning how to teach

December 13, 2010

Since two weeks I am teaching on my own and do my best to be a good English teacher. While I was a bit worried at first, because I’m not a native English speaker, I learned that there are many non-native English speaker teaching at this company. Talking to one of them while observing reassured me that I can teach even though my English might not be a 100% perfect.

Another thing I was worried about in the beginning was the content of the classes. I didn’t really understand how I am supposed to plan a lesson and then go through a whole lesson without looking at the plan. At the end of my observation phase, I was told to lead a lesson without any preparation. I had just watched a model lesson and could stick to this, but I was constantly thinking I might miss a part so that this lesson didn’t work out well. I was too nervous, too much thinking about what’s next and too timid. Plus, there were mothers watching the class on this day. I wonder what they thought about my lesson :/

Well, everybody has to start somewhere and at the end of the day I got a short coaching on what I need to improve after which I felt more confident to lead my own lessons. And now after two weeks I got to know all the Japanese teachers I will be working with and got in touch with most of the children I’m gonna teach. Every teacher has their own style of teaching and every class is different which made it difficult for me to plan the lessons well in advance. But after this initial teaching  phase I know about the differences so it should get easier from now on.

This week and the following we won’t be teaching according to the schedule ‘though. It’s time to have Christmas parties with the kids where we will only play games. I already bought my Santa costume and I hope it will fit. But since it consists of an apron and a cap, there shouldn’t be a problem 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

