Skip to content

Working Holiday Start?

November 8, 2010

A week has passed since I left for Japan and I arrived safely after a very comfortable flight. It felt a bit strange to be back, but I am still very happy to be here. I think, there’s still a bit uncertainty left about what the next few months will bring that caused this strange feeling. I felt more out-of-place than I’ve ever done in Japan. Maybe because I’m not sure what I’m gonna do here until March and I can’t tell anybody that I’m an exchange student or spending my holidays. All I can say is that I got a Working Holiday Visa and I’m looking for work…

Looking for work? Yeah, I was just about to leave for the airport when I got a mail saying the interpretation job will be delayed until January… So now I decided to look for another job and only do the interpretation if it doesn’t interfere with the new one I’ll hopefully find soon.

The day after my arrival I searched the internet for jobs again and applied for several teaching positions. And luckily I got one reply inviting me to an interview. It happens to be the job offer I’d like to take the most and I really hope that I’ll leave a good impression on Wednesday when the interview is set.

In the meantime, I visited the Medical Ethics doctoral seminar at Handai I used to participate in before. The group became very small due to some students’ graduation so that there are only three regular members left. Also at Handai I had a strange feeling being there. I wasn’t enrolled in any way but I wasn’t a stranger either. And it was the first time since I graduated that I entered a university and took part in a seminar.

I guess I just need to get used to everything again, but I am a little bit surprised about all this strange feeling. During the first days I just wondered why I felt so strange, but the more I think about it the more I come to the conclusion that the reason is that I wish I could go back three years ago, when I first arrived in Japan… And to be honest, I am a bit afraid that I can’t. But the strangest thing of all is that I remember to have had the same mixed feelings about going to Japan at that time. So shouldn’t I know better this time and just relax? I really should…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

