Skip to content

The Soulfuls

September 18, 2010

Last month I wrote about a song which expresses my  mood in August so well and now I can continue to write about music because this month’s matsuri hosted by nippon ichigo is about Japanese music 🙂

There are many Japanese bands and singers of various styles I like, but I take this matsuri as an opportunity to introduce you to my favourite band of Japan: Ulfuls ウルフルズ

The band’s name was supposed to be “Soulfuls” but due to a misreading it became “Ulfuls” and stayed like this. All four members are from Kansai (mainly from Osaka) so they sing in Kansai dialect (Kansai-ben) which is why their songs are great for Kansai-ben learners. I learned a lot Kansai-ben from their songs as well 🙂

One great example is “Osaka Strut”:

Ulfuls success began in 1995 with the album “Banzai” including several hit singles:

Guts da ze!!

Banzai – Suki de yokatta

The second one is also the song through which I learned about Ulfuls. I listened to most of their songs while being an OUSSEPian. I love Ulfuls because their songs are so energetic and motivating. They are great to listen while jogging or riding to frustrating University classes and back. They even put a big smile on my face while being in hospital lately 🙂

No matter how frustrated or sad I am Ulfuls remind me that there is always a tomorrow and that it’s okay to be frustrated and sad sometimes. Their long discography includes a song for every mood, for good and for bad times. I think they are truly soulful.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 00:47

    I have to say, reading this and seeing these videos, I’ve become a fan of them, too. 😀 Like, suddenly, POW! Fandom. I already liked their song Guts Da Ze!!, which was in the first Ouendan DS game, but I didn’t realize ALL their music was that fun. Or that they were from Osaka. Or that their name was typoed…lol.

    • franeymoon permalink
      September 20, 2010 10:59

      Haha, and I thought I was the only one infected that fast 😀
      It’s such a pity Ulfuls decided to take a break last year… I hope they’ll tour again someday!
      Btw, I can only recommend watching their other videos on youtube, too 😉 Couldn’t include them all in my short article.

Trackbacks

  1. Japan Blog Matsuri 9-’10: Music! • NIPPON-ICHIGO

Leave a Reply

