Skip to content

The Old Man, the Concrete and Motorsports

August 11, 2010

When I went jogging this evening, I came to a dead-end where there used to be a small path alongside allotments. The path had disappeared and the allotments were abandoned. Instead a wide road was under construction behind a barrier. An old man arrived there by bike just after me. I greeted him and was about to turn around and take another way when I saw him staring at the wide road. I don’t know whether he was talking to himself but suddenly he said: “They’re building another factory.”  I looked at him and he started to complain about the construction site.

There had been a factory producing gas concrete right next to the allotments since I can remember but I never knew about what this old man told me today. He explained to me that this factory used to blow out its emissions at night when everybody sleeps to hide its emissions. But the consequences get visible in the allotments. The old man who used to be a gardener told me that many trees and plants turn brown after emissions are blown out, so the emissions are obviously toxic, but whenever someone using the allotments complained at the factory they were paid to stay quiet. Now, the factory is going to expand and another factory will be built next to it.

If I got it right, the new factory will produce aluminum which the present factory needs to produce gas concrete. But according to the old man it is the aluminum which is toxic. Thus, the toxic emissions will even get worse…

Then the old man started talking about environmental problems in a broader sense and somehow switched to motor sports. He couldn’t understand why drivers are even paid for permanently polluting the environment during races and training. “What an interesting point of view!”, I thought as he went on with his speech.

He also criticized the chancellor who congratulates a successful motor sports driver and just goes on to promote the protection of the environment. Obviously, that doesn’t fit, but I’ve never thought about motor sports this way. Did you?

I’m sure he could have told me many other interesting things, but it started to get cold and I wasn’t dressed to standing around so I said goodbye.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 03:45

    It’s always interesting to talk with people – everyone has their own individual ideas about things

    • franeymoon permalink
      August 28, 2010 11:16

      Yes, that’s right. And it gives you something to think about.

Leave a Reply

