Skip to content

Wanted: February!

March 3, 2010

Someone obviously stole February from this year’s calendar.  Otherwise it wouldn’t be possible that it’s already March… Since January I keep counting pages not days, which may be why I don’t really notice the time.

Nothing really happened in February besides being super busy. I was working on my thesis which was half done by the end of February and working on my application at  DAAD for a scholarship of the Monbukagakusho. While the first is in constant progress, the latter kept me worrying for a while. Writing an introduction of 5 pages to what I intend to do in Japan seems to be easy, but it felt more difficult than writing an 80 pages thesis… I want to continue my research on overweight in Japan but as this is a very complex topic I wished I could just hand in my thesis as an introduction. So cutting everything down to only 5 pages wasn’t easy.

Of course my prof didn’t accept my first draft and said it was good as an introduction of the topic’s background but not of what I plan and, most important, why my plans where necessary and interesting for the academic world. Plus, I needed to show more background knowledge of related studies to connect my plan to existing works.

Three weeks and later I had revised the whole draft and luckily it was almost ready to be sent according to my prof. I just had to correct some minor mistakes and was able to send my application the same day. Now, I hope to be invited to an interview.

In the meantime, I needed some time to clear my mind again and took two days off from thesis work to be creative instead. And this is the result:

I always wanted to make a hat from felt and this is my first try. Although I haven’t felted for… I don’t know how long… it didn’t come out too bad. I like it, ‘though I don’t think that it suits me…

Well, after this break I need to work on to get the latter half of my thesis done by the end of March. I guess that I won’t notice much of March as well…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2013 22:56

    Lovely hat for a Xmas party 🙂 How did you make it?

    • franeymoon permalink*
      May 10, 2013 09:51

      Funny isn’t it? ^^” I totally forgot about these old blog posts. Thanks to you I remembered.
      BTW, the hat is felted. I used to felt a lot back in Munich. Would like to felt again ^^

      • May 10, 2013 10:58

        yeah it looks very funny 🙂 It’s my pleasure to read your old posts 🙂 where I come from, our traditional folk cloths are made from felted sheep’s wool. I have some pictures on this post -> http://mreuroguy.com/jurgow/

  2. franeymoon permalink*
    May 10, 2013 11:11

    Actually, I never used the hat because it turned out a little bit too funny. I still have lots of wool stored at my parents home so I would like to make another more wearable one ^^
    Your traditional clothes are very beautiful 🙂

    • May 10, 2013 11:17

      oh thanks 🙂 we are waiting for pictures of finished product 😀

Leave a Reply

